Register | Login   
Our Sponsors
Caffeinating Cyclists Since 1994
   
Latest KyMBA Posts
Found at Waverly
by russell g
I rode Waverly tonight an...
New Look Launched for BikeClicks
by WebGuy
Pulled the trigger tonigh...
Waverly "Son of XXX log"
by TheWaverlyGhost
There is a big tree down ...
Otter Creek Adventure Race
by Lindsay
I know Stephanie, the rac...
Sword fighting at Cherokee
by GeraldZ
I actually saw LMPD offic...
Cherokee status 9/3
by TWL
Cherokee caught quite a b...
Wilderness Trail Loop
by The Trail Gnome
 The TRAIL GNOME is back ...
avatars
by MEK
Any reason why animated a...
LBL Canal Loop Single Speed gearing
by BillyD
OK single speeders I need...
Share the Road Rally.
by Gonzo
When: Saturday September ...
   
KyMBA Community
Subject: Shady?
Prev Next
You are not authorized to post a reply.

Author Messages
Jeff ViniardUser is Offline
Granny Gear
Granny Gear
Posts:39


Registered Users
Murray/Crestwood, KY
05/14/2008 10:56 AM  
So here I am, cruising Nashville craigslist 'cause my leg's busted up (freedom's a-coming...), and I see an ad for a pretty good deal. Some person's selling a practically-new Canon 5D along with an L-series zoom lens for a hair over $1000. This is FAR under retail, as the new lens alone would command that price, to say nothing for the full-frame body.

So I e-mail the poster with a few questions, namely where he is in Nashville (there was no location on the posting), if he has the warranty card, and why he's selling. A few hours after that, the craigslist posting gets taken down, and I get an e-mail overnight from the poster saying he has the gear, but is currently in ENGLAND. Not only that, but the guy didn't answer any of my questions from the original response.

So my plan going forward is to reply to the e-mail, reiterating my original questions and trying to work out logistics. Nothing more until I get a response, as I was wary about the deal from the get-go when I saw the initial price. Does this sound like a classic set-up for a craigslist burn? Am I being used as a fence? Does anybody have any friends in Nashville with missing camera gear? Thanks for your advice!
OCguyUser is Online
Big Ring
Big Ring
Posts:128


Registered Users
Oldham
05/14/2008 11:05 AM  
Yes.

Probably not. Expect a request to wire funds and NOT receive the "stolen property.

No.
TonybobUser is Offline
Big Ring
Big Ring
Posts:249


Registered Users

05/14/2008 3:59 PM  
There have been similar postings here for a macbook pro and other items up here. Same deal, under what ebay is fetching and, d'oh, wouldnt you know they JUST MOVED. Scam-a-rooney.

Speakin of scams. If some dude emails you and says he is gonna be at waverly riding, dont fall for it! Rusty is a heart-breaker. Thank goodness the Beaner was there for me.
Jeff ViniardUser is Offline
Granny Gear
Granny Gear
Posts:39


Registered Users
Murray/Crestwood, KY
05/14/2008 5:51 PM  
Rusty's a cruel mistress, I hear...

Between the opinions voiced here, past stories of scams, and a few handy internet searches, I'm bailing. Guess I'm slumming it with my 350D for some time to come.
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Forums > KyMBA > Off Topic > Shady?



ActiveForums 3.7
   
Share this page - email | del.icio.us | digg | technorati | reddit | stumbleupon | facebook | yahoo bookmarks | twitter